Portrait

Nicole Hitz | Daniela Villiger | Editha Lambert | Andrea Fischer | Rebekka Bräm

a cappella from zurich, switzerland

dezibelles are 4 young women who decided to found a quartet back in September 2009 and have since set out to mix up the swiss a cappella-music scene. having met in the well-known Zurich youth choir (Jugendchor Zürich), dezibelles have been in tune with each other for a long time, and have experience singing in all kinds of musical styles. over the years, dezibelles have built up an extensive repertoire ranging from classical music to international folk songs right up to jazz and pop pieces. they don’t shy away from unconventional performances and pointed choreographies. since 2018 the quartet is touring with a partly new line-up.

in autumn 2015, the 4 ladies participated in the a cappella competition “jugend kulturell förderpreis 2015” from the german bank “hypo vereinsbank”, which was both their first participation in a prize competition as well as their first time performing on international terrain. with a surprising double win of both jury and audience prizes in the preliminaries, dezibelles earned their ticket to the final in Hamburg, where they got to perform in front of 1’500 people and were eventually awarded with first prize. in addition, the quartet won amarcord’s 2018 special award for the best unplugged song in Leipzig. since then, dezibelles have performed in magdeburg, wiesbaden and usedom (germany), but also in leers (france).

dezibelles’ first cd, “sturm & gsang” (literal translation: “storm & singing”), was recorded in 2013; and their second album, “nachtschattenklänge” (literal translation: “sounds of the shadows and of the night”), was released in october 2016.

Nicole Hitz / Soprano

Nicole Hitz studied opera singing and music education in Lucerne, Berne and Zurich. She’s also experienced in CVT – complete vocal technique. The soprano sang in a number of opera productions and concerts and works as a singing teacher. Nicole lives in Basel, studies Armenian and plays Tennis.

Rebekka Bräm / Soprano

Rebekka Bräm studied classical singing in Lucerne and vienna and works as a Singer and cultural Manager. she’s a dezibelle since the beginning and and also manages the group. she really enjoys eating (beef tatar, croutons and artichokes) and dreams of a vegetable garden in the city.

Daniela Villiger / Mezzosoprano

Daniela Villiger studied economics in Zurich before she turned to musical, which she studied at the “london school of musical theatre”. she sings in different musical productions and is part of the close harmony trio “swinglish”. daniela loves taking photographs, practicing yoga and baking her grandmother’s recipes.

Editha Lambert / alto

Editha Lambert studied singing in her hometown halle in germany before moving to zurich. she works as a singer in different productions as well as an actress. editha really enjoys dancing, having a good philosophical digression and is invincible at table football.

Andrea fischer / musical direction

Andrea Fischer studied musical education with major singing in zurich, where she also received further training in choral conduction. She teaches at two secondary schools in zurich and also sang in dezibelles up until 2018. most of the ensembles arrangements are written by her. Andrea loves climbing mountains, practicing yoga and hot summer days.

Rebekka Bräm & Andrea Fischer / artistic direction

in addition to their jobs as musical director and manager, Andrea fischer and Rebekka Bräm are responsible for the dezibelles’ overall conception. they are committted to providing their audience with a unique a cappella experience at any time and love crossing style borders along the way.

Portrait

Nicole Hitz | Daniela Villiger | Editha Lambert | Andrea Fischer | Rebekka Bräm

a cappella de zurich

Les dezibelles: voici 4 jeunes femmes qui, en septembre 2009, ont décidé de diversifier la scène
a cappella suisse en formant ce quatuor. Ayant chanté ensemble dans la chorale «Jugendchor Zurich» du conservatoire de musique de Zurich sous la direction de Michael Gohl, elles partagent depuis nombreuses années une coopération musicale commune et se sentent à l’aise dans plusieurs styles et époques de musique différentes. depuis 2018, le quatuor monte sur scène avec une composition partiellement nouvelle.

C’est ainsi que les dezibelles se sont bâties un vaste répertoire, incluant des pièces classiques, passant aussi par la musique folklorique internationale jusqu’au jazz et style pop, tout en intégrant chorégraphies et éléments comiques dans leurs spectacles.

En automne 2015, le groupe a participé au concours d’a cappella renommé «Jugend Kulturell Förderpreis 2015» à Hambourg, leur premier défi à l’étranger, et y ont remporté le premier prix du jury. de plus, le quatuor reçut le prix spécial amarcord 2018 pour meilleur pièce a cappella à leipzig. Depuis, les dezibelles sont aussi actives en Allemagne et se sont réjouies de leur premier spectacle en France, à Leers en septembre 2017. Il y a 4 ans, elles ont enregistré leur premier CD «sturm & gsang» (traduction littérale : «tempête et chant»). Leur deuxième CD «nachtschattenklänge» (traduction littérale : «sons des ombres et de la nuit») est sorti en octobre 2016.

Nicole Hitz / Soprano

nicole hitz a étudié le chant lyrique ainsi que la pédagogie à lucerne, berne et zurich. elle s’est également formée en cvt – complete vocal technique. la soprano a chanté dans différentes productions d’opéras ainsi que dans de nombreux concerts et travaille comme enseignante de chant. nicole habite à bâle, étudie l’arménien et joue du tennis.

Rebekka Bräm / Soprano

rebekka bräm a étudié le chant classique à lucerne et à vienne et travaille comme chanteuse et manager culturelle. elle est une des dezibelles depuis leur début et s’occupe également de la gestion de l’ensemble. elle apprécie énormément manger (tartare de bœuf, croûtons et artichauts) et rêve d’un jardin dans la ville.

Daniela Villiger / Mezzo-soprano

daniela villiger a étudié l’économie à zurich avant de se tourner vers le musical, ce qu’elle étudié à la “london school of musical theatre”. elle chante dans différentes productions et fait partie de l’ensemble de close harmony « swinglisch ». daniela aime la photographie, le yoga ainsi que de cuisiner les recettes de sa grand-mère.

Editha Lambert / alto

editha lambert a étudié le chant dans sa ville natale de halle en allemagne avant de déménager pour zurich. elle travaille comme chanteuse et actrice dans de diverses productions. editha apprécie grandement la danse, avoir de bonnes disgressions philosophiques et est invincible au babyfoot.

Andrea fischer / direction musicale

andrea fischer a étudié la pédagogie musicale avec majeur en chant à zurich, où elle a également reçu une formation de directrice de chœur. elle enseigne dans deux écoles secondaires de zurich et a également chanté dans les dezibelles jusqu’en 2018. elle a effectué la plupart des arrangements de l’ensemble. andrea adore la grimpe, le yoga et les jours chauds d’été.

Rebekka Bräm & Andrea Fischer / direction artistique

en plus de leur rôles de directeur musical et manager, andrea fischer et rebekka bräm sont responsables de l’entière conception des dezibelles. elles sont résolues d’apporter à leur audience une expérience a cappella unique et n’hésite pas à franchire les frontières stylistiques tout au long de leur chemin.